Check in time.

Yep, I’ve changed my badges over there on the right hand side. NaNo is coming soon and I had to move on from the glory of last year’s win.

It also feels like time for a mid-October progress check.

October  openings/deadlines –

4 pieces to start month. Dumped 1 because I apparently cannot write dragon stories – yet.  Finished 1 but didn’t send to the market I originally wrote it for. Does anyone else do that?   Currently – 2 still to finish. 1 going well one not so much.

November openings/deadlines –

1 piece (I was careful not to put things on my list!) –  Second draft completed, edits needed.

December openings/deadlines –

2 pieces – For 1 market will pick from some existing pieces. 1 is in progress and relates to my novel.

W1S1 Goals –

I’ve switched to the Monthly side of things and have already written and subbed 1 this month.   Also the Year Long Novel challenge starts in November.  And yes that was deliberate. Thanks Moderators! Feeling on top of things here.

NaNoWriMo Prep –

Not so much as I’d like.  I know I’ll be working in the Thin Places world I’ve been generally organizing all year and also where I’ve written some shorts. Just not quite sure where to jump in. The story line in my head is about 12,000 years long but I know that a lot of that is backstory and fodder for shorts.  I may take several jumps along the time line a bit for November. We’ll see.

So, the good the bad and the truly ugly come out.  The month started with only 1 item subbed, I’ve added 2, and will add 1-2 more before the end of the month. Getting there. Plus  several items that need to get turned back around.

It’s a big change from a year ago. Back then I would mumble about starting to write and hesitant to call myself a writer. Now my friends aren’t surprised to find me huddled at the netbook with  earplugs in and tell me how proud they are of my big plunge.

That’s my scorecard for the month so far. Anyone else care to share?

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, W1S1, Writing, writing fiction

Please Leave a Reply!

